top of page

Introduction: Professional Practice

I chose this module as it gives us the opportunity to research, plan and execute a work experience placement or shadowing in a career sector of our choice. I have always been interested in starting my internship and placement path, to help me gain a good post-graduate job in the future. This course is going to give me the shove I need, as well as the confidence to do so. I feel by opting for this module I am pushing myself out of my comfort zone and, hopefully, into the workplace.

In the introductory lecture we were given key information on what the course involves:

- There will be readings to be completed

- Each workshop we will be acquiring knowledge and implementing that into research

- The module is about the research and planning that goes into getting a placement (if we don't manage to find a placement for example, we can still succeed in this course)

Structure:

Week One: Introduction and a talk from CEC

Week Two: Mock Interview/ CV

Week Three: Developing an online presence

Week Four - Eleven: Undertaking the Internship + Independent Tutorials

As well as these weeks and completing the actual internship, we must keep a blog, and complete two sets of assessments:

Assessment one: portfolio - 30%

1. Attend at least three events by CEC

2. Produce a skills based CV

3. Create an appropriate online presence

Assessment two: Personal Journal + Statement - 70%

1. Statement (1000 words)

2. Daily breakdowns of tasks whilst at the internships - key events/skills gained

3. Research material / Notes and Reflection


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
  • White Pinterest Icon
  • White YouTube Icon

© 2023 by Annie Branson. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page